Some Things You Might Not Know
David Pollack
Dawg Post
Posted Dec 10, 2006

Most college experts say that the Southeastern Conference is the best conference in college football, but did you know that only 5 SEC schools have produced Heisman Trophy winners. Georgia (2), Florida (2), Auburn (2), LSU (1) and South Carolina (1) are the only ones. I know South Carolina wasn't an SEC school when George Rogers won in 1980, but here is something that you might not know.

The SEC winners were...

Frank Sinkwich - Georgia (1942)
Billy Cannon - LSU (1959)
Steve Spurrier - Florida (1966)
Pat Sullivan - Auburn (1971)
Herschel Walker - Georgia (1982)
Bo Jackson - Auburn (1985)
Danny Wuerffel - Florida (1996)

Like I mentioned above there was also George Rogers.

Three schools have won 7 Heisman Trophies... Southern Cal, Notre Dame and now Ohio State... technically the Buckeyes have just have 6 winners... Archie Griffin won the award twice.

Alabama and Tennessee are the only schools in the top-10 in most wins that have had zero Heisman Trophy winners.

By the way, Georgia is 11th all-time in wins.

The conference with the most winners is the Big Ten conference has had 15 winners total. But if you want number irony... the Big 12 has 12 and Pac-10 has 10.


If you think the SEC is being mistreated in the Heisman Trophy... the SEC has only have had 2 Butkus Award (linebacker) wins. The award started in 1985 and Derrick Thomas won it in 1988 and this year Patrick Willis won.

Even lower is the Bronko Nagurski (top defensive) Award. The award started in 1993 and Champ Bailey is the only winner. At least it was Champ.


Darren McFadden would have been the first sophomore to win the award if he would have won. When Herschel was a sophomore he came in 2nd place behind Marcus Allen.

Speaking of Herschel, Herschel Walker was the first number 34 to win the Heisman... Bo Jackson and Ricky Williams also won it with that number.


Georgia has won its share of awards...

Before McFadden won it this year, Garrison Hearst was the only SEC player to win the Doak Walker Award (running back).

They have 2 Maxwell Awards (outstanding football player). The 2 Awards are more than any other SEC school. Charley Trippi and Herschel Walker are the 2 winners.

Bill Stanfill won the Outland Trophy (interior lineman).

But, Mr. Award for Georgia should be David Pollack. Pollack won the...

Bednarik (top defensive)
Lombardi (lineman)
Hendricks (defenisve end)
Lott (performance and ethics)

All of this happened in 2004.

Related Stories
The Football Blitz
 -by  Dec 11, 2006
SCOTT: All not well in Razorback camp
 -by  Dec 10, 2006
Mid-December: What we are hearing
 -by  Dec 11, 2006

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of DawgPost Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Georgia
[View My HotList]