2006 Scout.com All-SEC Released

Posted Jul 12, 2006

Pre-season favorite Auburn led all teams with six players selected to the 2006 Scout.com Southeastern Conference Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team, which was announced today. The Tigers were the consensus pick by the network to win the 2006 SEC Championship.

Defending SEC champion Georgia had four players selected followed by Florida, the network’s pick to with the SEC East, with three. Tennessee, South Carolina, Kentucky, LSU and Arkansas each had two players named to the list. Vanderbilt and Ole Miss both had one player selected as All-SEC. Alabama and Mississippi State did not have a player named to the list.

Four players, offensive lineman Arron Sears of Tennessee and Tim Duckworth of Auburn, linebacker Patrick Willis of Ole Miss and safety LaRon Landry of LSU were unanimous selections of the Scout.com SEC Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team.

This is the second year of the Scout.com SEC Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team. The entire listing of the 2006 Scout.com Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team is below:


QB – Chris Leak – Florida

RB – Kenny Irons – Auburn

RB – Darren McFadden – Arkansas

WR – Sidney Rice – South Carolina

WR – Courtney Taylor – Auburn

TE – Jacob Tamme – Kentucky

OL – Daniel Inman – Georgia

OL – Brian Stamper – Vanderbilt

OL – Arron Sears – Tennessee ***

OL – Tim Duckworth – Auburn ***

OL – Will Arnold – LSU

DL – Marcus Thomas – Florida

DL – Justin Harrell – Tennessee

DE – Quentin Moses – Georgia

DE – Marquies Gunn – Auburn

LB – Patrick Willis – Ole Miss ***

LB – Sam Olabujutu – Arkansas

LB – Brandon Siler – Florida

CB – Fred Bennett – South Carolina

CB – David Irons – Auburn

S – LaRon Landry – LSU ***

S – Tra Battle – Georgia

PK – Brandon Coutu – Georgia

RS – Rafael Little – Kentucky

P – Kody Bliss – Auburn

*** Unanimous selections

2006 Projected Finish

1. Florida
2. Georgia
3. Tennessee
4. South Carolina
5. Kentucky
6. Vanderbilt

1. Auburn
2. LSU
3. Arkansas
4. Alabama
5. Ole Miss
6. Mississippi State

2006 SEC Championship – The Georgia Dome – December 2, 2006
Auburn vs. Florida

2006 SEC Champions

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of DawgPost Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from DawgPost.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.