Shockley Is A Finalist For Manning Award

Posted Dec 8, 2005

ATHENS - Georgia's D.J. Shockley is one of the five finalists for the Manning Award, which is presented annually to the nationĀ¹s top quarterback.

Inaugural Manning Award winner Matt Leinart of Southern Cal, Drew Olson of UCLA, Brady Quinn of Notre Dame and Vince Young of Texas joins D.J. Shockley as finalists. The award will be announced following the bowls, as it is the only honor that factors in the candidatesĀ¹ bowl performances.

The Manning Award was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. A select panel of national media covering college football as well as each of the Mannings will determine the winner.

Shockley was the Most Valuable Player in the SEC Championship Game as the Bulldogs won their second league title in four years. The senior from College Park has passed for 2,311 yards and 21 touchdowns this season, while also rushing for 251 yards and four scores. He was named First-Team All-SEC by The Associated Press and Second-Team All-SEC by the league's coaches.

Related Stories
Shockley is Player of the Year
 -by  Dec 8, 2005
Follow up: Richt named SEC Coach of the Year
 -by  Dec 7, 2005
Shockley means so much to team
 -by  Dec 4, 2005

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of DawgPost Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
QB D.J. Shockley (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > North Clayton HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]